Mominy’s Baking World

Baking and the crumbs that go with it…

I’m back! January 8, 2009

Filed under: baked,cookies — mominy @ 6:07 pm

I won’t even apologize for not blogging in like 2 years. I’ve been stupid busy but that’s no excuse for not putting down my words.

Yah, I did a load of baking over the holidays – mostly cookies of course – but I did turn out a Very Good Chocolate Cake, the recipe of which I downright stole from Edna Lewis and Scott Peacock from the Watershed Restaurant in Decatur, GA. Bitter cake, super sweet and creamy frosting. I used holly from the yard and raspberries for garnish. The best.

I’ve experimented with butter cookies, oatmeal cookies, chocolate cookies… I’ve tested caramel, powdered sugar, chocolate chips… And I even rocked a couple stupendous apple pies. But my best work is always in the simple things: biscuits, snowball cookies and brownies.

Tonight, I’m making my aforementioned snowball cookies which are super easy with minimal ingredients – go on, try it. You won’t be disappointed and just think about how much of a hero you will be to your friends and co-workers. Even the ones you are not that fond of.

Snowballs

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
3 sticks unsalted butter – softened
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tbsp vanilla
3 cups all purpose flour
2 cups mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts

Mix thoroughly the butter and sugar.
Add vanilla and stir.
Add flour slowly, stiring frequently
Add chips and nuts (if using)

Drop by teaspoonful into hand and roll into ball.
Position 12 on a cookie sheet and bake 10 minutes.

Here’s where I get creative. I use a mesh tea strainer and “shake” powdered sugar on the top while they are still hot. It works well, and it’s small enough to contain the disaster which WILL ensue. I promise you will be finding powder in places you wouldn’t expect. But sometimes, it’s a good place!

Happy Baking!

 

2 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Hello –
    I am a filmmaker in Atlanta. I read your blog with the mention of Edna Lewis and her recipes.

    I just wanted to let you know I produced a 21 minute documentary about Miss Edna Lewis and its viewable in its entirety on Internet at a Gourmet Magazine website:

    http://www.gourmet.com/magazine/video/2008/01/Edna

    and at a Georgia Public Broadcasting website:

    http://www.cforty7.com/film/theater?film_test=16

    My documentary is called Fried Chicken and Sweet Potato Pie.

    My website, http://bbarash.com/bb_friedchicken.htm has more information about the film and the story of Miss Lewis.

    Sincerely,
    Bailey Barash

  2. Noah Says:

    Anything with 3 sticks of butter brings drool to my face! How come I didn’t get to try any???


Leave a Reply

