Mominy’s Baking World

Baking and the crumbs that go with it…

Just another Saturday with my kitchen February 2, 2008

Filed under: candy — mominy @ 7:42 pm

The girls are here this weekend so I decided to make some stuff to fill the kitchen with undeniably great smells.

For breakfast, I baked some previously-made and frozen biscuits. They were just as good from the freezer to the oven (in the former for less than a week) as if I’d made them right then. The girls raved.

Despite being a vegetarian, I decided to finally cook the turkey that’s been taking up mucho space since Thanksgiving. I put it in around lunch and it was done about 4.5 hours later, filling the house with stupid good meaty scents reminiscent of holidays past. With it, I made FRESH homemade biscuits (I think that actually impressed my kids – yay!). I also sauteed broccoli, made green beans and rice on the side. I had a great Morning Star Grillers Prime “burger”…my favorite meat replacement. Oh – and I had cranberry sauce. Love that stuff.

After dinner, M went with my honey to pick out some movies and left me with L. We decided to make Turtles. The first stab was not so hot, so below we leave you with what DID work.

turtles.jpg

1 bag of Kraft caramels, unwrapped
1.5 cups peanuts or rough chopped walnuts
12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Place caramels in a large bowl and microwave for one minute on HALF power.
Check if melted…if not, try 30 seconds at a time on HALF power (try not to let it bubble)
Mix in peanuts and drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheets or silicone mats. DO NOT USE WAX PAPER (found out the hard way, friends).
Let harden – we put them outside because it’s semi-cold here.

Place chocolate chips in a medium bowl and microwave for 30 seconds, stir, 30 seconds, etc. until fully melted.
Spoon the chocolate into a sandwich sized Ziploc bag.
Carefully snip one corner (just so a very small hole is present).
Squeeze chocolate over “Turtles” to cover.
Allow candy to harden at least one hour (less if refrigerated).
Do not freeze as this will turn the chocolate white-ish and will turn your guests off.

 

Leave a Reply

